Player of the Year

Manchester United star Wayne Rooney has been voted PFA Player of the Year. Rooney, who has twice won the Young Player of the Year award, was hot favourite to take the honour voted for by his playing colleagues after scoring 26 goals in 30 Premier League appearances so far this season.

The 24-year-old succeeds United team-mate Ryan Giggs in claiming the award and he was handed the honour ahead of Chelacsea’s Didier Drogba, Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas and Carlos Tevez of Manchester City.

Rooney, the first Englishman to win the award since Steven Gerrard in 2006, paid tribute to the influence United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has had on his career.

As for Young Player of the Year went to: James Milner

Premier League team of the year: Hart, Ivanovic, Vermaelen, Dunne, Evra, Fabregas, Milner, Fletcher, Valencia, Rooney, Drogba

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

My Bucket List

Jacob’s Well, Texas – Fringe Festival, Edinburgh - Holi, India -